New Year's Eve DUIOver 20 Years Fighting Injustice
New Year's Eve and DUIs
Get Help from Proven Long Beach DUI Lawyers
From New York to California, cops across the country have launched “STOP DUI” initiatives. With New Year’s Eve being a popular night for people to go out, police are never more on the lookout for drunk drivers than on December 31. This means that in addition to patrol officers, law enforcement will likely have sobriety checkpoints throughout major roads in the state.
Regardless of if an officer suspects you have been drinking, you can be asked to step out of your car and perform a field sobriety test or breathalyzer at a checkpoint. If these tests suggest you have been drinking, you will be arrested on the spot.
The Penalty for a DUI
In an effort to crack down on DUIs, California has strict penalties for a first-time DUI conviction. A few of the most common, minimum penalties are:
- Heavy fines, typically around $2,000
- Weekly attendance at a three-month long alcohol treatment program. If your BAC was above a .20, you may be required to attend a nine-month treatment program.
- A 90-day restriction on your license. This will only allow you to drive to and from work and your alcohol-treatment class.
- The loss of your driver’s license for a minimum of 30 days, followed by a restricted license.
If this is your second or third DUI, the repercussions are much more severe and often include jail time, fines of $10,000, and/or the complete loss of your license.
Defense You Can Count ON
At West Coast Defense, our goal is always to have your DUI charge dismissed or reduced, which can be done a number of ways. Most commonly, we look to prove that the breathalyzer used was faulty or calibrated wrong. We also take an extensive look into how you were stopped, processed, and booked, to determine if police followed the proper guidelines for a DUI arrest.
After a free consultation with our Long Beach DUI lawyers, we will take the time to guide you through the next steps and prepare you for any questions, meetings, or trials that may be in your future.
Contact West Coast Defense to start fighting your DUI charge today.
- Case DISMISSED Charged with Battery
- Misdemeanors were dismissed. Carrying a Concealed Knife
- Case Dismissed Assault and battery
- ALL ALLEGATIONS WERE DROPPED Arrested for Violation of Probation
- All felony charges DISMISSED Arrested for Felony Arson
- CASE DISMISSED Arrested for Domestic Violence
- Case was dropped Arrested for Domestic Violence
- DRUG CHARGES DISMISSED Arrested for a Felony possession
- Case Dismissed Accused of sexual assault
- CASE DISMISSED Accused of Child Molestation