Vehicular HomicideOver 20 Years Fighting Injustice
Long Beach Vehicular Homicide Lawyer
If you have been arrested and charged under California's vehicular manslaughter law, it is vital that you contact us now at West Coast Defense for a free, confidential consultation. A Long Beach defense attorney from our team can meet with you to discuss the circumstances of the accident and review your legal options. Depending on the circumstances of the case, the best approach might be to negotiate with the D.A. for a favorable plea bargain, or perhaps it might be better to fight the charges in pursuit of a dismissal of the charges or a full acquittal.
This applies in cases where the driver who caused the accident was in violation of a traffic law or driving in a way that was unsafe based on conditions. Common examples include speeding, unsafe lane changes, using a cell phone to talk or text, or violating the right of way at an intersection. It may be charged as a misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine, or a felony, with up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Vehicular Manslaughter While Intoxicated
This is filed in cases where the drunk or drugged driver's actions can be characterized as being grossly negligent or reckless and showing a disregard for human life. Willfully reckless and dangerous behavior or aggressive driving may serve as grounds for the charge. It is a felony with a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison. In cases where the drunk driver had previously been convicted of DUI, California state law makes it possible for the prosecutor to file a charge of second-degree murder, which carries a sentence of up to 15 years in prison. This applies in cases where, at the time of a previous conviction, the driver was read a "Watson advisement," which is a warning of the dangers of drunk driving and of the possibility of a second-degree murder charge.
Call Immediately - (800) 922-6989
If you or a loved one has been arrested or is being investigated for vehicular homicide, you need legal representation immediately. Call (800) 922-6989 for a free consultation and case review. Our team has proven success in representing clients who have been charged with vehicular manslaughter and other criminal charges.
- Case DISMISSED Charged with Battery
- Misdemeanors were dismissed. Carrying a Concealed Knife
- Case Dismissed Assault and battery
- ALL ALLEGATIONS WERE DROPPED Arrested for Violation of Probation
- All felony charges DISMISSED Arrested for Felony Arson
- CASE DISMISSED Arrested for Domestic Violence
- Case was dropped Arrested for Domestic Violence
- DRUG CHARGES DISMISSED Arrested for a Felony possession
- Case Dismissed Accused of sexual assault
- CASE DISMISSED Accused of Child Molestation